Bowled over!

Lilac Art Bowl

 

One of the fun things I have been doing over the past few years, is making fabric bowls of various shapes and sizes.  I have a range of patterns available on my website or at my eBay store. 

As you can see from the picture of the bowl above, I have not always just left the bowls plain – I have had fun making my own textural fabric to make the bowls from!

The particular bowl above was written up as a project in “Handmade” vol 22 #8 (page 38).

The upper fabric was made using free motion machine embroidery – layering of silk tops, metallic fabrics and sheers, wool tops, and tulle, all embroidered together.  Pieces of fabric and lengths of crystals were couched on top of the bowl.

It’s really fun to do and very effective! – it only required straight stitch and satin stitch!

I guess a lot of people think that they can’t do free motion machine embroidery – however, it’s really quite straight forward.  A lot of the works that I produce are done with only straight stitch – which any sewing machine can do!

I’ll be showing you various projects that I have done and am in the process of doing – and will show you how it was / is being made.

I’d love to see what you have been up to too!

Leave a comment