30 minutes creativity per day… Day 44! Today I got knotted ☺

 

Definitely love the texture French knots give a piece – especially when they are of different thread thicknesses or numbers of wraps around the needle.

 

Today I have started filling in some of the background areas using French knots, and stranded cotton (all 6 strands at once). I found I had to be careful to create the knots across a thread of the background fabric, or risk the knot disappearing ☺

 

It’s actually quite soothing doing the knots – and not worrying if they appear loose, as I ♥ that look ☺ The diagram below, drawn up for the stitch guide in Embellish magazine, shows how the stitch is created.

french-knot

 

I’ve added stitches to the lower left hand side of my piece to start with:

day-44-b

 

Loving where it’s taking me ☺

 

Leave a Reply

