30 minutes creativity per day… Day 11! Patterns

Today I thought I’d have a play with repeating patterns. The easiest repeating unit is a square, so I created a pattern within a square and blocked the colours in as black and white:

day-11-a-72-dpi

I tried to arrange the design in the square so that there was some possible connectivity when the squares were touching.

 

Arranging a heap of the squares together brought about this pattern:

day-11-b-72-dpi

It wasn’t quite what I was hoping for, so I had a play with different colours to see what might pop out at me:

day-11-c-72-dpi

Hmmmm…. probably some promise there… but again, not really what I was hoping for.

 

Therefore, I tried a different design, which touched top and bottom, as well as at the sides of the repeating square:

day-11-d-72-dpi

 

Placing a number of them together brought about the following pattern:

day-11-e-72dpi

This was more along the lines of what I was hoping for.

I then mirror imaged the middle row of them:

day-11-f-72-dpi

Not bad….

So, I then mirror imaged the columns:

day-11-g-72dpi

Beautiful! The play of positive and negative space on this last one is just what I was looking for!

 

You should have a go too! I’d love to see what patterns you come up with ☺

Leave a Reply

