Playing with my new camera! (and no, they’re not spiders….)

Such fun!  I have a new camera!

It’s a Panasonic Lumix – to be used to capture inspirational shots and to photograph my artwork. (It also does 3D photos – but that’s another story).

I thought I’d have a play with it photographing “something I prepared earlier” 🙂   It did the closeup shots absolutely brilliantly – as you will see below! (you can click on the images for closer views)

This is of a piece of textile art entitled “Crawling”, a 3D fabric sculpture.  The ruler shows its approximate size ie. quite small.  There are a number of large and small insects (NOT spiders – each has 6 legs!) crawling all over this small log.  I have hand embroidererd French Knots on the log to represent moss.  There are a number of different shades of green knots – each shade having 50 knots done (this piece was done for an Embroiderers Guild VIC exhibition, celebrating their 50 year anniversary).  The mesh fabric that you are seeing in the last photo covering the log is actually a fine organza!  I can see that I am going to want to re-photograph a number of my artworks!  🙂

Full view of "Crawling".

Full view of “Crawling”.

Hollow view of "Crawling".

Hollow view of “Crawling”.

"Crawling" from above, showing entrance to the holllow area.

“Crawling” from above, showing entrance to the holllow area.

Close up of "Crawling" along one side.

Close up of “Crawling” along one side.

Large insect close up.

Large insect close up.

Comments
One Response to “Playing with my new camera! (and no, they’re not spiders….)”
  1. Lynda Anne says:

    Oh, yes – there are 50 insects (of differing sizes) over the log……

Leave a Reply

