Emu egg all stitched up! (textile art that is……..)

Currently I am attending an Art and Design course (tutor Marianne Little) and trying to push myself outside my current boundaries.

One such effort was an emu egg with feathers from a black breasted buzzard, inspired by the buzzard at Healesville Sanctuary – see their video of this bird breaking the (fake) emu egg.

Using a photograph taken during the show I took components and sketched them together –

Emu Egg Sketch

Emu Egg Sketch

 

From there, I printed out my sketch onto fabric, and in preparation for stitching it with freemotion machine embroidery, I tested out different threads (including different tension balances).  I have often sketched using graphite pencils, but this was my first foray into a shades of grey embroidery…..

Once I had determined which threads to use, I marked out (on my test piece) where the various shades would go.

Emu Egg Stitch Preparation

Emu Egg Stitch Preparation

 

Then it was take a deep breath, print out another, and give it a go!

Emu Egg Stitched

Emu Egg Stitched

 

A close up view –

Emu Egg Stitched Close Up

Emu Egg Stitched - Close Up

 

I was very happy with the results, and will have to re-visit stitching in shades of grey again!

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Emu egg all stitched up! (textile art that is……..)”
  1. Susie Monday says:

    This is such a stunning drawing, it makes me want to look at a plain old hen’s egg in a new light! Isn’t that what we all want from our art — for people to wake up to their own realities? Thanks for cruising by my blog last week, too.

  2. Wow! What a wonderful piece!

  3. Mo Crow says:

    the shimmering of the greys is lovely!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] gone off on a tangent this time from using shades of grey thread (see the emu egg).  I decided to look at the effect on the desaturation of colour by letting the grey from a […]



Leave a Reply

